top of page
Search

Why Head, Heart, Hands?


Head, Heart, Hands was a little trinity I came up with for myself a few years back when I was struggling to articulate why mainstream academia was feeling challenging to me. It's an attempt to capture all the different parts of myself that I refuse to separate off into silos (most of the time, at least!) and to embed care as the heart of sustainability and everything I do.


The 'head' bit is the part that'll feel most familiar to any of us on the giving or receiving end of formal education, e.g. critical thinking skills and intellectual knowledge about sustainability. This is obviously important but, for me, it's only ever been one part of how we participate in the world around us, and spending too much time in my head leaves me feeling stuck and frustrated. That's where the heart and the hands come in. The heart is what I like to think of as my guiding compass - you could call it our dreams, our values or our inspiration but it's that bit of us that lights up when we align ourselves with something that feels deeply 'right' to us, and which shuts down, feels sad or says 'no', when we're tangled in something that doesn't resonate with us on a deeper level. Then we have the hands - I'm a deeply practical person: I like to move my body, create things, interact with stuff and generally see where I've been at the end of a day. As a gardener and a crafter, I learn through my hands every day, both in terms of my practical competence and also in terms of my head and my heart - I sometimes have my best insights while crafting or working in the garden with the plants.


Living with Head, Heart & Hands is my way to remind myself to value all these levels of my being and encourage others to do so too. I hope you like what you find here and I look forward to hearing what your head, heart and hands have to show you too!

31 views0 comments
bottom of page